The National Eating Disorders Collaboration (NEDC) has developed an interactive model depicting the components of the stepped system of care for eating disorders, with examples of contexts where these components may be delivered. Principles and guidelines, lived experience, and research and evaluation should underpin and inform all components.

Eating disorders are serious, complex mental illnesses accompanied by physical and mental health complications which may be severe and life-threatening. They are characterised by disturbances in behaviours, thoughts and feelings towards body weight and shape and/or food and eating.

The steps include:

  1. Prevention
  2. Identification
  3. Initial response
  4. Treatment
  5. Psychosocial recovery support

The model proposes that caring for and supporting those living with eating disorders is a whole community approach, strengthened by their friends, family, carers, and professional supports. 

The NEDC outlines these recommend treatment and recovery options, including information about inpatient and outpatient settings and the recommended therapeutic interventions for treating and managing eating disorders.

These workforce core competencies are recommended by the NEDC for the safe and effective identification of and response to eating disorders in an Australian context. This includes consideration of the continuum of care for eating disorders from the earliest possible point of identification through initial response to shared care, evidence-based treatment and recovery support.

Stepped System of Care for Eating Disorders 

Posted on 17 August 2023